Skip to main content

ISS Design and Leadership Award

Two new awards were presented at the 2011 International Superyacht Society Design and Leadership Award Gala during the Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show: the Best Refit Award and the ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award, an award created to celebrate stewardship of marine ecosystems.


Each year since its founding in 1989, the ISS has presented its peer-reviewed awards, which recognize individuals and companies for their expertise, leadership and dedication to raising the standards of design, construction, maintenance, repair and operation of large yachts.

The Blue Award adds a new element; environmental leadership, global oceanic conservation and resource preservation are prerequisites for a Blue Award nomination. The integration of environmental technologies and resource management with the goal of setting achievable standards and models for wide adaptation in the design, engineering and building of large yachts—and the use of the earth’s waterways—are essential criteria. Owners and the yachting industry select the nominees and a panel of judges, including Fabien Cousteau, makes the final selection.

Overall, the yacht industry’s leading builders, designers and stewards submit nominees to the ISS.

The categories are Power: (3) awards for size categories 24m-40m, 40m-65m, 65m+; Sail: (2) awards for size categories 24m-40m, 40m+; Interior Design: (1) award for power or sail; and Best Refit: (1) award for power or sail.

An impartial group of judges then weighs the qualifications of each yacht with the winning yachts announced at the annual gala. ISS also recognizes achievement in the business and service of superyachts.

Yachts International was a Platinum sponsor of the event.

2011 Winners—Design Awards

Best Sail 24-40m


Builder: Carbon Ocean Yachts

Designer: Rogers Yacht Design

Best Sail 40m+


Builder: Royal Huisman

Naval architect: Dubois Naval Architecture

Interior Design: Redman Whitely Dixon/Todhunter Earle

Best Refit

Angel’s Share

Builder: Wally

Naval architect/designer: Soto Acebal

Best Power 24-40m


Builder: NISI Yachts

Naval architect: Setzer Design Group

Best Power 40-65m

Big Fish

Builder: McMullen & Wing

Design: Greg Marshall Design

Best Power 65m+


Builder: Blohm + Voss

Naval Architect: Blohm + Voss

Design: Michael Leach Design Ltd.

Best Interior


Builder: Royal Huisman

Interior Design: Redman Whitely Dixon/Todhunter Earle

2011 Awards of Distinction

Open to every aspect of the industry—from crew training to technological advances—the Excellence in Innovation award is given to an individual or business that has demonstrated innovation in their endeavors. Nominations come from the industry and ISS board members vote to determine finalists. In 2008, 2009 and 2010 respectively, Agrimond, Carlisle and Finch and Sailing Yacht Soliloquy, Callender Designs were awarded the Excellence in Innovation honor.

The ISS Business (Person) of the Year is awarded to those demonstrating excellence in their area of superyacht expertise within the previous year. Nominations come from industry peers and the ISS board, with the board making the finalist selections. Previous honorees have included Frans Heesen, Heesen Yachts, John Dane, Trinity Yachts and Corporation of Trinity House.

Excellence in Innovation: Gary Markel, Operation Cruise

Business Person of the Year: Dick Boon, Vripack

ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award: Yacht Carbon Offset

Leadership Award: Espen Oino, Espen Oino International